State of Ohio License to Carry a Concealed Handgun Application must be completed for your license, after you have successfully concluded the Ohio CCW class with 2 hours of live fire, on the range, and have received your CCW Course Certificate from a qualified instructor.
As reciprocity agreements become available between Ohio and other states, they will be posted. Please refer to the Ohio Attorney General Office and the Ohio CCW laws or www.handgunlaw.us/states/ohio.pdf for complete information.
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire,
New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Wyoming.
You must apply for a permit at the county sheriff’s office where you reside or in an adjacent county for a Payment of a non-refundable fee of $67.00. Please check with your county sheriff's office for individual specifications on what you will need to bring, each county differs. You must be a legal resident of the United States and an Ohio resident for 45 days before you apply for your license. You must be a resident of the county (or adjoining county) where you apply for at least 30 days.
The sheriff will issue a permit within 45 days, depending on the county, of receipt of a completed application, provided background check, fingerprints, criminal records, and mental competency all comply.
Needed to bring to the County Sheriff’s Office to apply for the Ohio Concealed Carry Permit:
Renewal of the Ohio CCW License and how long it is valid:
The Ohio CCW renewal process is basically the same as the “original” process; however, no class is needed for the first renewal.